ATTENTION: Sony Dropping the Banhammer on CFW Users

November 13, 2012

You had to know this was going to happen at some point didn’t you? With newly released custom firmware options stretching all the way to 4.30, many users had been greeted to completely unfettered access to the PlayStation Network’s myriad of services. From online games of Borderlands 2 to some new downloadable titles from the PSN Store, for a short time it seemed we had it all. Today however, Sony has taken its first real strike back. Boy is it a doozy!

If you try to sign into the PSN with any CFW (including older versions with F*ckPSN or SEN) you’ll now be greeted with an error code 8002A231 leaving you completely barred from the network. That’s just the beginning of your problems though because you’ll also be receiving an email with the following message: 

“PlayStation Customer: Notice: Unauthorised or pirated software has been detected on your PlayStation 3 system. This use has violated the terms of both the “System Software License Agreement for the PlayStation 3 System” and the “Terms of Services and User Agreement” for the PlayStation Network/Sony Network Services and its Community Code of Conduct provisions.

As a result, your Sony Entertainment Network account has been permanently banned and access to PlayStation Network and Sony Entertainment Network services through your PlayStation 3 system has been terminated permanently.”

That being said, if you want to keep any sort of internet access for your console, I highly suggest staying out of the PlayStation Network for now. Odds are there will be tons of you effected by this, and for that I am intensely sorry. If you need to vent, the comments section is awaiting  your words. We hackers are a talented  group and will probably find our way to a fix for those not banned, but until then, keep your gaming experiences in the single player realm. What can I say other than it was fun while it lasted. 


Tags: CFW, PS3 Hacks, PSN, psn ban, Sony

Tweet this!Tweet this!

Previous post:

Next post: