CIA kickstarts rts/jrpg game

August 28, 2013

phoenix-thumbnailVita owners who feel their handheld isn’t getting the AAA support they expected might be getting their fix from an unexpected source. Project Phoenix is a Kickstarter funded game made by a development all-star cast. Allow me to explain.

Luckily CIA doesn’t refer to that North American government agency, but a new game development studio named Creative Intelligence Arts, Inc. The members of this independent team are anything but rookies. In fact the pedigree of these successful industry veterans seems to be a mayor aspect of the game’s initial draw. Collectively these professionals have worked on titles such as “Diablo 3, Halo 4, several Final Fantasies, L.A. Noire, Valkyria Chronicles, Crysis 3 and many more.”

Project Phoenix is aware of its own lofty and ambitious goals: from wanting to set “the new standard of excellence for the Japanese gaming industry” to creating a game that can satisfy longstanding fans of the jrpg genre. That being said the game doesn’t follow the beaten down path with a turn based battle system but is a real time strategy game with jrpg elements, especially visually.

Band of Heroes by GANTARO

There isn’t much know about this game which is set to be released mid 2015, but the initial explanation of the battle system sounds like a real time version of the Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem series.

The game tells the story of an unlikely band of heroes, much like the band Frodo had in LoTR. The paladin Marcus Stern who encounters the Angel with amnesia Ruffles, the elven princess Sylrianah who is curious to discover the world beyond her forest and the battle mage Zarum The Lost who struggles with internal conflicts. A story about finding their place in a world where orcs and men are on the brink of war because of misunderstanding and ignorance.

Currently this game is targeted at PC, Mac, iOS and Android with a PS4 and PSVita release still in negotiations but highly likely.


Tweet this!Tweet this!

Previous post:

Next post: