[RUMOR] Playstation 4 to launch October 21st:

by ps3iso on August 15, 2013

Could we see Sony’s PS4 launching as early as 21 October?:
We know Microsoft is releasing the Xbox One in November – we don’t know the date but it’s been clear about that. While that’s good for gamers, it has given Sony a bit of a heads-up.

The latest rumour regarding Sony’s PS4 suggest the release date for the next-gen console could be as early as 21 October 2013, putting it ahead of Microsoft’s proposed Xbox One release date.

Additionally it would give the PS4 a whole month of sales to help recoup stock ahead of the all-important Black Friday sales, the busiest period of shopping in the US as everyone kicks off for Christmas.

A mod-verified posted on NeoGAF posted the details, suggesting that he comes from a retail background and was privy to the PS4′s release date.

“Our internal product release schedule from head office dropped yesterday and on Oct 21st an unnamed Sony console will be launched,” claimed the user.

“FYI all console revisions like the PS360 slims and Wii Mini were listed as PS360 & Eii Mini. Previously the Wii U, 3DS and Vita were also only listed as Nintendo/Sony Console in the product name column.”

The NeoGAF user added that they worked at “a very large retailer, managing the electronics sales force and nothing more.”

The release schedules the retailer was sent “are for internal use only, designed to allow us time to create our instore merch plans”.

He then added that if the launch date for a product is not yet known then it is just marked as TBA. The fact that a date was included suggests that, if true, this could indeed be the PS4′s release date.

The date is only ever added “when we have received confirmation of said date from the product company”.

Though all of this sounds legit – the poster has been mod-verified too, which means he’s had his source checked by a NeoGAF mod – it should still be taken as a rumour.

If the PS4 release date has been decided by Sony, however, then it’s highly likely we’ll see confirmation of this – whether it’s true or not – next week at Gamescom.

Sony’s Gamescom conference is due for Tuesday 20 August 2013 at 7PM CET / 6PM BST / 1PM EDT / 10AM PDT.

This follows news that Sony has put a block on PS4 pre-orders due to demand, perhaps suggesting an earlier PS4 release date to beat Microsoft to the punch and maintain an advantage in terms of sales early on.

Tweet this!Tweet this!


Previous post:

Next post: